Love is the Motive‏

Konnichiwa 私の愛する友達!!

This week was another great week in good ole Tama!!

On Thursday we had dinner with the district and had four of our investigators come and it was great. We even had two sweet Ward members come, it was a party!! We were able to teach Sachie a lesson afterward and Rie Chan a youth in the Ward was amazing and shared her favorite scripture and testimony of the Book of Mormon. It was way powerful! I'm so grateful for such strong youth!

So a miracle this week was, we were finally able to meet with ichikara San who we haven't seen in like four weeks and it was great. It was good to reunite with her and she still has strong desires to be baptized and learn the only problem is figuring out times. But it was great to meet with her and talk about the Book of Mormon. It was a great meeting with her and Kanno Shimai helped us in the lesson and we will continue meeting with her.

This week we also had stake conference and it was great, I LOVE the Machida Stake!!! The members here are so strong and loving. You could really feel their spiritual strength and power during the meeting! We got to hear from the temple president and from President and Sister Wada! It was such a treat! Everyone was spiritually fed at the conclusion of the meeting. The biggest lesson I learned this week was, love truly is the motive in this work. During stake conference I heard some hard news and my heart hurt, as the meeting went on, I tried to concentrate more fully on the speakers and try not to focus on how I felt but my mind just wouldn't have it. As I started to cry a little with my emotions everywhere praying to be at peace so that I could focus on my purpose. I looked over at Yuka and she gave me a sweet smile as she looked at me and I couldn't help but smile back and I felt a huge rush of peace sweep over me and I knew that God answered my prayer in the smile of sweet Yuka. I am grateful for the love I was able to feel in the time that I needed it the most. God's love is so perfect and infinite and I know it is a love that I need to strive to emulate. I read Pres. Uchtdorf's talk, 'You Are my Hands' and he says: "Without this love for God the Father and our fellowmen we are only the form of His Church--without the substance. What good is our teaching without love? What good is missionary, temple, or welfare work without love? Love is what inspired our Heavenly Father to create our spirits; it is what led our Savior to the Garden of Gethsemane to make Himself a ransom for our sins. Love is the grand motive of the plan of salvation; it is the source of happiness, the ever-renewing spring of healing, the precious fountain of hope. As we extend our hands and hearts toward others in Christlike love, something wonderful happens to us. Our own spirits become healed, more refined, and stronger. We become happier, more peaceful, and more receptive to the whisperings of the Holy Spirit."

I hope this week we can all try to love a little more and emulate Christlike love to those around us and strive to follow the spirit and be a tool in the Lord's hands, so that he can touch another's life. I love you all, I love the people I serve here in Japan, and I love my brother and Savior, Jesus Christ. 

愛しています
Sister Wilson
ウィルソン姉妹

Response after hearing her Papa was ill and in hospice…
I want you all to know I am doing fine and I’m grateful to be here in Japan and am grateful for the opportunity to share hope with those in Japan. Mom, please tell Grandma how much I love her and papa right now!! It’s gonna be a roller coaster but I will be praying for Papa to have peace at this time. Whatever happens I know the Lord will be with all of you. I am so grateful for our family, grateful that I get to share the legacy I was taught with the people here!!!! Despite how much my heart hurts, I feel an even greater fire to do more missionary work and help others find the peace that I have found in the gospel. I know that whatever happens it is all in the Lord’s hands and I trust Him. I have also felt that the Lord is really strengthening me through these trials and I can feel His guiding hand and the comfort of the atonement with me. It stinks to be so far away and not to be there to help the family but I will work my hardest here and get to work. I know pretty soon Papa will be getting to work on the other side. I know how much he loves our family and how he would love to be here with us, but know that he really loves the Lord and will do whatever he can to serve Him. I love you all and am fine. Please tell Papa I love him and will work hard!!!!
Love,
Wilson Shimai
Leave a Reply

